Review: Installing Linux on a Dead Badger by Lucy A. Snyder

Installing Linux on a Dead Badger (and Other Oddities) by Lucy A. Snyder

Lucy A. Snyder provides us with zombie tech and horror humor stories in this hilarious collection.

Well, to be fair, it may only be hilarious to that part of the population that consists of zombie movie watching computer geeks. Snyder’s subtle humor and deft sprinkling of in jokes kept me laughing throughout this entire book. I first encountered Snyder’s work when I read the title story, and internet standout, “Installing Linux on a Dead Badger: User’s Guide” in Strange Horizons, an online magazine. It is just the kind of quirky weirdness that appeals to me.

For the less weird among us, do not fear. Snyder also includes social commentary on (okay, she pokes fun at) the GOP, Microsoft and the institution of lies my mother told me about dating.

I finished reading this book just before a subtle tiny knock came to my door last night, All Hollows Eve. Screams of “Trick or Treat, PLEASE” rocked me backwards as I opened the door. I was confronted with a pint size princess, scarecrow and ZOMBIE! (Alas, no badgers) But I ask you, what ever happened to “Trick or Treat, SMELL MY FEET?”

“Installing Linux on a Dead Badger” is the best zombie tech humor book I have ever read. Hands down.
I would like to thank my son, Chris, for picking up this autographed copy for me while he was at ZombieFest 2007 in Pittsburgh. It is the best early birthday present I have gotten this year!! (And yes, Lucy-S, I enjoyed it! But, what’s up with that penmanship?? You write like a computer geek… oh… yeah… nevermind.)

2 Responses

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed it! And, yes, my handwriting is pretty bad … the many cups of coffee I’d had that morning before Chris came by our table didn’t help, either ;-)

  2. Lucy: So… the bad handwriting was caused by coffee induced jitters or coffee induced zombie-ism?

    I was looking at your website the other day, and I was amazed at how you have sold some stories multiple times. Now all you have left to do is broker a Hollywood deal for Linux on a Dead Badger, eh?

    Thanks so much for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

