Origins 2007

Over all I had a great time at Origins.

There were a lot of families at the con this year. This was a good thing. And not all the kids were playing collectible card games either. There were a lot playing miniature base war games, traditional board games and even role playing games. I saw one family where the mother was the gamer geek, and the dad kept an eye on the children when they didn’t have events. Stereotypes fail again!

There were some problems. The organizers were disorganized. They had events scheduled wrong. Wrong time slot, same game listed twice at the same time with the same GM, that kind of stuff. Both events I paid for had problems.

The first game I played was a miniatures war game by Jim Getz with the diorama and figurines by Uncle Duke Siegfried. The organizers shorted the time slot by two hours. It should have been a six hour game (yes, six hours). More than half of the players scheduled other events that conflicted with the end the mini game and they had to leave.

In my Dragonquest game, the time slot was an hour off. I got there an hour late, and it ended an hour before I expected. I was able to play.

The juicy rumor is that there is a strong possibility that there will be a Fourth Edition of Dragonquest. More on this later if it does move forward.