Abraham Lincoln Was Right

{the political lamp is lit}

I searched around for a complete version of this quote.

“I am not bound to win, but I am bound to be true. I am not bound to succeed, but I am bound to live by the light that I have. I must stand with anybody that stands right, and stand with him while he is right, and part with him when he goes wrong.” –Abraham Lincoln, speech in reply to Senator Stephen Douglas, Peoria, Illinois, October 16, 1854

It is sad how far the NeoCons have drifted from the core sentiments of the GOP. I am writing this post because a neocon blog partially quoted my post about Jose Padilla. They quoted a part that would serve their ends. Out of context the part they chose could be misconstrued as being unpatriotic. I am as patriotic as they come. On Sept. 17, 2001, I climbed aboard one of the first airplanes to fly out of Port Columbus, Ohio after 9/11. I was wearing my US Flag smiley face T-shirt. I was making the statement that the terrorists had lost, I was not afraid to fly. Five other people made the same statement. Six people on a flight that would normally have more than seventy people. Two of the others were also wearing red, white and blue. I suppose I should have realized at that point that our government was allowing the terrorist to win by continuing to hype the fear. It didn’t take me long to realized that our president was doing things that were very wrong.

The neocons have turned the words “liberal” and “progressive” into bad words. On the other hand they refer to themselves as the “RIGHT” which they imply means “correct” instead of its standard historical political definition of “conservative”. I can only assume that they did this because with the out of control spending and moral untruthfulness we are seeing within the neocon tent, that they are so far away from “conservative” that they are truly being the dictionary definition of “liberal” with the taxpayer’s money and trust.

That neocon blog that quoted me also quoted and enhanced the Abraham Lincoln quote above. The neocon version on that blog is: “Stand with anybody that stands RIGHT. Stand with him while he is right and PART with him when he goes wrong.” I find it significant that they chose to not include the bit about also being “true”, which is in every non-political version of the quote I could find on-line. If Lincoln, heck, or Barry Goldwater were alive today they would be screaming about what the current administration is doing to our nation.

And I am afraid that even in this lame duck period we haven’t seen the end of it. This posturing and strutting about Iran has me more than just a little nervous. I am afraid that this nut will start a third war before he leaves.

And he can do it. Congress has given him the power to do it. Lincoln warned us, but we failed to heed his words.

“Allow the president to invade a neighboring nation, whenever he shall deem it necessary to repel an invasion, and you allow him to do so whenever he may choose to say he deems it necessary for such a purpose – and you allow him to make war at pleasure.” -Abraham Lincoln

There is something that bothers me even more: that so many people, so many rational conservatives, are still so terrified that they are not willing to pull their heads out of the sand long enough to see what is happening to our civil liberties nor long enough to see that president Bush is “wrong”, and declare “Enough of this neocon liberalism! Give me Freedom, not Fear!!”

Leave a Reply

