RIP, Madeleine L’Engle

Madeleine L’Engle is the reason I am a fan of Science Fiction and Fantasy. I don’t know the year exactly, it could have been 1963 or 64, when my mother read “A Wrinkle In Time” to my brother, sister and me. I was hooked. I wanted more of that kind of story. So much so that I taught myself to read.

Many times during my childhood I remember wanting to create a “tesseract” and have adventures of my own. I started making up stories of my own, and still do. I read every science fiction book in our public library before I learned to drive. I bought books with the money I earned from selling the spare eggs my chickens laid and from picking strawberries at a local fruit farm. I spread the addiction by insisting that friends read the same books I was reading. I coasted through high school with SF novels taking more important role in my studies than textbooks. Who I am today has been shaped by my love for imagination and a longing for a bright and wondrous future. I am a computer scientist because of science fiction. I have shared my love for the fantastic with my three sons, and they are now bright and creative and wonderful young men.

I espouse kindness and love as strengths in a world that now labels them as weaknesses or character faults. Deep down in my soul I am a happier person because of my desire to look forward to a time when things will be better if only we act to make it that way. I always know that I can defeat IT with love, no matter what “it” happens to be. This is what I learned from “A Wrinkle In Time.”

I am the person that I am partly because of Madeleine L’Engle.

She passed from us on Thursday, September 6th, 2007. I would like to think that Mrs. Whatsit, Mrs. Who and Mrs. Which were there to show her the path to Glory.

2 Responses

  1. I am saddened to know that Madeleine L’Engle has passed away; her writing did indeed touch many hearts. Thank you for writing such a beautiful obituary.

  2. Thank you for your kind words, Camille. I was surprised by my own reaction to her passing. It really felt like the passing of a close friend.

Leave a Reply

