Review: The Pursuit of Happyness

The Pursuit of Happyness (2006)

(The misspelling in the title was intentional by the Author)

Will Smith was nominated for Best Actor for this role. I think it was well deserved. Smith has continued to improve as an actor over the years, and this movie shows us that he is quite capable of performing in a drama. I am glad that he did not get type cast into only playing comedic roles.

Pursuit of Happyness is based on a true story. It contains within it the mundane and the bizarre. It is a slice of life that is both depressing and uplifting at the same time. It follows Chris Gardner as he struggles to make a better place in the world for his son and himself. Readers here will know that I am a sucker for a good underdog story, and this one certainly qualifies. What I really like about this telling is that it shows how much work and pain it sometimes takes to live from one day to the next. Good fortune does not fall into the lap of Gardner. He has to strive and claw just to pursue happiness. I found myself engrossed in this movie and it drew me in like no other movie has done in recent memory. The entire feel of the movie was smooth enough that I did not once find myself outside of the story questioning a plot hole or gaff.

The movie is heart warming. Perhaps I like it some much because it validates my own feelings that we are not guaranteed anything, except perhaps the joy that comes when we reach our goals or find a different goal that is better than the one we set out to achieve.

Leave a Reply

