Review: Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street (2007)

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street (2007)

I enjoyed this move much more than I thought I would. I have a soft spot for musicals, and when in the mood I like a gruesome horror flick. This movie was both, and it was very well done.

I guess I was afraid that it would be campy like “Little Shop of Horrors” or “The Rocky Horror Picture Show”, but it wasn’t. That’s not to say it didn’t have any humor. It had plenty of humor like any good drama does. Which is my point, I think. It was a drama. The story kept me riveted to my seat even though I was familiar with it.

Perhaps the movie had too much gore for some people’s sensibilities, but I found my self fascinated by how realistic it all looked. I don’t know if they used Computer graphics or if it was entirely makeup, but either way, it rocked!  It was gory, but not over done. For me it was not the blood spurts that made it horrific. It was the situation, the helplessness and the madness, and how a simple, caring man can be taken beyond the point of redemption that really scared me.

On to the acting. Johnny Depp seems to gravitate towards the bizarre. I pray that he is not being type cast because even back when he portrayed Pvt. Lerner in “Platoon”, you could see that he has a talent for drama. That said, I am very glad that Depp chose to portray Sweeny Todd. He was outstanding.

Helena Bonham Carter fit the movie well, but I am afraid that I kept being reminded of her role in “Big Fish”. Perhaps it was the costuming…

The surprise for me were Alan Rickman and newcomer Laura Michelle Kelly. They both were fantastic and seemed to really understand the characters they portrayed.

I completely recommend this movie to anyone that is a horror fan. I also recommend that care be taken when exposing young adults and children to it. View it first, then decide if it is appropriate for the youngster in your life.

One Response

  1. I liked it, but noticed that some jokes were missed by most of the audience. Thanks to my reading and television viewing preferences, I am familiar with a lot of British expressions and was laughing at puns and jokes when no one else did.

    Then again, maybe that was my non-mainstream sense of humor.

    I always like Johnny Depp’s acting. It was a nice surprise that he carried the singing so well. He does seem to accept quirky roles, but maybe that’s his preference.

    Helena Bonham Carter – even though she did a good job, I couldn’t stop thing about “The Corpse Bride.” That makeup was too much.

    Ed Sanders (Toby) was pretty good, too. Too many child actors overdo reactions, but his were right on.

    It is definitely a movie worth seeing. Even if you don’t like musicals. I hate most musicals, but this I liked.

Leave a Reply

