Double the fun…

When I started writing stories again, I decided that no matter the number of rejections I got, that the important thing was that I was doing something I loved doing.  I have been more relaxed during the writing process because of this.  I am not obsessing about rejections like I did back in the late 70’s and again in the mid 90’s.  Not only is the process of writing more fun, but so is the anticipation of hearing back from an editor.  Sure, acceptances are nice, but getting back a reject, tweaking it, and sending it out to another publication ASAP has become fun as well.

Speaking of acceptances, I got two today.  I have read in internet writers forums where this has happened to others, but never expected it to happen to me.

Both stories are flash fiction and both were accepted by Every Day Fiction.  That is where the similarity ends.

“My Day Off From The SETI Project” is a drabble (exactly 100 words) that was rejected at another venue.  I heavily tweaked it before sending it to EDF.  It is a slightly humorous satire.

“Becoming Cottontail” is a quirky modernistic fable, featuring rabbits, that rolled in at over 700 words.  I am very proud of this one.  The initial draft was written in one sitting.  I got some good feedback from the family members that read and critiqued it for me.  It is not fantasy like Brian Jacques’ Redwall or or the RPG “Bunnies and Burrows”, but these did inspire me a little.  The biggest inspiration was the elderly cottontail rabbit that lives in the bushes around our house.  She is so use to us being around that she doesn’t run away even when we get within a few feet of her.

Publication dates for both are forthcoming.

4 Responses

  1. I’m glad we could make the unexpected happen for you! They’re both great stories, and we’re looking forward to publishing them.

    Camille Gooderham Campbell
    Editor & Slush Mistress
    Every Day Fiction

  2. Hey! Welcome to my blog, Camille.

    I have a story in the editing stage right now that might fit the word limit for EDF. Most of my recent stories have been well over 1000 words.
    I have been very happy reading EDF. You and Jordan have made some very good choices.

  3. “My Day Off From The SETI Project” is slated for publication on August 22, 2008.
    In Every Day Fiction’s August Table of Contents post I was mentioned as a regular contributor. Well, shucks!

    I think it is safe to assume “Becoming Cottontail” will be in the September issue.

  4. “Becoming Cottontail” will be published by EDF on Sept. 11, 2008. Coincidentally, it was one year ago on that date that EDF accepted my first sale, “The Journey”.

Leave a Reply

