Language Barrier

Another one of my quirky stories has sold.

Language Barrier has been accepted for publication by Abandoned Towers Magazine. It is slated to appear in Issue #2, due out March 2009.

At 410 words, it is another one of those quirky flash stories that I apparently am good at. It also marks the first time that I have sold a second story within the same milieu, or setting, as a previous sale. This story and “The Journey” are linked together, although there are only a few words in each one that would lead a reader to think this. I have a third story in this setting making the rounds with editors as well.

This story was fun, and I originally wrote it specifically for Every Day Fiction. It wasn’t exactly the kind of story they were looking for. It bounced through another editor before finding a home.

2 Responses

  1. Congrats on another sale.

    410 words is unfathomably short to me. It’s not that I write really long stories. To the contrary, I’ve been accused of being too brief – my stories are usually 2500-3000 words.

    But 410. Wow!

  2. Hey, David.
    I seem to have a knack for flash fiction. Only one sale to date is in the traditional short story range at about 5500 words. Two of my other sales are less than 410. “The Journey” is 95 words. Stuff this short is more along the lines of the stories people tell at the dinner table or over a beer. The other story I have submitted that is in this milieu–which I think of as the Warp Lane stories–is about 1100 words. I have longer stuff circulating, but none has sold.

    One of my problems when I write longer tales is that I am too concise. Which is a lame way to say that I tend to tell and not show.

Leave a Reply

