Buckeye Trail, Scioto Trail Section Supervisor

There is a new Buckeye Trail, Scioto Trail Section Supervisor.

Me.

I am exited about the opportunity. I figured that I would be closer to retirement before I stepped up my involvement with the BTA, but circumstances beyond anyone’s control changed my mind.

The previous section supervisor was injured and will be out of commission for an extended period of time, and even after recovery is leery of traipsing about the woods by himself. He said that I was really the only choice for replacing him; how could I say no to that?

Besides, hiking an building hiking trails have really helped me on both physical and emotional levels. It is a little daunting: I have increased my BTA responsibility fourteen times over. Dad and I maintain a 4.28 mile segment of the trail, the entire Scioto Trail section is 60.87 miles.

The Scioto Trail Section stretches from the eastern edge of Tar Hollow State Forest to the Pike Lake dam in the Pike Lake State Park. In between are the Tar Hollow State Park, Scioto Trail State Park and Forest, Pike Lake State Forest, many miles of privately owned land and public roads. The main responsibility will be to work with and encourage those people who have volunteered to maintain the trail, to actually do that. There are some segments that have open volunteer positions, and I will need to try and recruit people to fill them.

It is the public road segments that were the main reason I said yes to the supervisor position. Many of the roads that were safe to walk on just five years ago, are now dangerous. Here in Pike County the Trail starts a very long on-road segment near the intersection of Prussia and Pennington Rds. NW of Waverly. It follows nine different roads (Prussia to Pennington to Kaiser to Denver to Mt. Tabor to Clines Chapel to Nipgen to SR772 to Morgans Fork) before entering the Pike State Forest near the intersection of SR772 and Morgans Fork Road. That is over 14 miles of continuous on-road hiking. At some point I would like to get off-road trail built to replace it. Actually, it is longer than that because the Ohio Department of Natural Resources is doing selective logging of diseased and blighted trees in the Pike State Forrest, and will not permit hiking in the logging zone. The temporary re-route follows Morgan Fork to Pike Lake Road, and into the State Park that way; perhaps another six or seven miles on-road. I need to find out when that logging is going to be finished.

And then there is the issue of crossing US23 near Woodland Park Rd. (just south of Alma Omega Rd.) Not sure what can be done here unless there is major road construction done and we can get the North Country Trail to push for a tunnel similar to what was done where the BTA/NCT crosses (underneath) US35 NW of Richmond Dale.

I am exited about this promotion within the BTA. Yeah, it is all volunteer work, and it won’t be easy. But I will get to meet more people and have a built in reason to go hiking… er… do some trail inspecting.

3 Responses

  1. You know, I don’t hike as much as I’d like or as much as I should … but on those rare days when I can do some hiking I really appreciate the trail-blazing folks like you do. So … thanks! And good luck with your new challenges.

  2. Welcome to leadership on the BT and NCT, Deven. Hope our paths cross in the future. And THANK YOU!

  3. Thanks for stopping by, Joan.
    It is nice to know that there is appreciation out there.

    I stopped by your website, and I really like it. Folks in MI have a great resource to use.

Leave a Reply

