The Gerrymander still lives…

{The Political Lamp is Lit}

It was with great hope that I entered this election season anticipating that for the first time I would have a elected official in the US House of Representatives that represented me, my neighbors, and my county.

It was not to be.

The Gerrymander still lives and won the day. Again.

It angers me that a few high population Cincinnati suburban neighborhoods control the political representation of the small towns and farmers sixty miles away from their doorsteps. I was hoping that perhaps with the increase in voter registration here in southern Ohio, that perhaps there would be enough votes to oust the seemingly permanent stranglehold those Cincinnati suburbs have over the rest of us. The vote was probably closer than the incumbent would feel comfortable with.

I am left with only one strategy for the next two years. I will write my congresswoman about every important issue. And when she votes in ways that hurt farmers and small towns, I will write letters to the editor of my local newspaper. Perhaps she will surprise me and vote for what is best for her entire constituency, instead of voting the way her party bosses want her to vote. I am not holding my breath.

Understand that the real evil here is not the person who will be representing me in the US Congress. The real evil is the two-party political machine that has a strangle-hold on true representation. A strangle-hold that chokes out fair representation; a strangle-hold that chokes out any effort for a meaningful third political party. We need to kill the Gerrymander that enables the two-party political machine to continue unopposed control over the political landscape.

Oh, BTW. I am so very pleased that Barack Obama is our President-elect. Perhaps now our nation can focus on our better values like kindness, and on doing what is right because it is the right thing to do–not because a profit can be made. I am sure I will have more on this in the months ahead.

Leave a Reply

