Road trip: Bob’s random crap

Whilst on a road trip yesterday to return the youngest to Pittsburgh, I stumbled across a radio station that had me laughing at its concept. Most radio stations these days belong to, or run programming by, companies that run syndicated radio shows. Just about anywhere you are in the USA, you can find a station called “The Mix”, “The River”, “The Classic Rock Station”, etc. and it is mostly pablum with no originality. After all, there had to be a reason why Tom Petty wrote the song “The Last DJ”, right?

I listen to these syndicated stations because I have very little choice. I do tune in Columbus Ohio’s QM96 when I am in range. At least in the morning it seems to have original programming.

The station I had started to listen to while leaving Pittsburgh started to fade out, so I hit the scan button to find some more suitable music for my lonely drive home. I left it on a station that was playing “1985” by Bowling For Soup, because it has a catchy tune and I like the sentimentality of the lyrics. I listen to “1985” when I get the chance because I have had this idea of writing my own lyrics about being sentimental about 1979. I figured it was a station that catered to popular rock hits from recent years and was prepared to hit the scan button as soon as “1985” was over.

My jaw dropped because the next song was “Take a Chance” by Abba. That’s right! Abba!

Next was “Shock the Monkey” by Peter Gabriel, followed by “Don’t Do Me Like That” by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers. And just when I started thinking that it was just another classic rock station, they drop in a song from the mid 90’s. I think the god of coincidence also wanted to get a jab in, you know, because I was still thinking about writing 1979 based lyrics for the song “1985”.

“1979” by The Smashing Pumpkins was next. How weird is that?

During the breaks between songs, I learned that the station was called “Bob”. I also learned that they played whatever they wanted to, and that one listener wanted them to “keep playing that random crap.” Needless to say, I had to start keeping track of the songs that they played. Some of the songs were unfamiliar enough that I didn’t know the artist or the title, so I just wrote down lyric snippits. It has been fun looking them up. It seems I have a void in my brain when it comes to early and mid 1980’s alternative music. I was a tad busy with family and work and college. I couldn’t soak in everything. The songs that followed as I drove from Pennsylvania into West Virginia were (in order):

“I Got You” by The Split Enz; “Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man” by Bob Seger; “Vida La Vida” by Coldplay; “Bizarre Love Triangle” by New Order; “Living For The City” by Stevie Wonder; “Crazy On You” by Heart; “What I Got” by Sublime; “Somebody’s Baby” by Jackson Browne; “Maybe I’m Amazed” by Paul McCartney; “Lay Your Hands On Me” by The Thompson Twins; (a song that I could not figure out a title nor artist for) and “Bent” by Matchbox 20, at which point the station faded out, just west of Wheeling.

Now I am fairly sure that “Bob FM” is a syndicated station, and if it is, then it is the most original idea for syndication that I have yet encountered. The idea seems simple. Put every top 100 rock song since 1970 into a player and hit shuffle.  All but one song was familiar to me, and even if I didn’t know the artist or the song title, I was able to figure them out.  For the one song I could not figure out I had written down the lyric snippet “this is how we begin”.

I must say that anticipating what kind of song was going to be played next kept the boredom away for that part of the trip.  I plan on listening to more of Bob’s random crap during the next road trip to Pittsburgh.

Leave a Reply

