Pins and Needles can sting

This is one of those typical bad news, good news posts.

I have been waiting on pins and needles for well over a month now to hear back from an editor about the status of one of my stories. The story had survived the slush pile, and all the subsequent readings and opinions by the editorial staff until it reached the managing editor. The bad news it that it was rejected.

But then there is the good news. The magazine was a professional market that is recognized by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA). To have a story get past initial slush was an accomplishment; to have it survive the winnowing process until it was rejected by the editor that makes the final decisions was remarkable; to receive personal feedback by the magazine’s editorial team was unexpected, and I am grateful for the experience.

Understand that the rejection stings. The longer the story survived the selection process, the more hopeful I became. I was really wanting an acceptance. Who wouldn’t?

But as the disappointment wanes I am already thinking of the editors’ (yes, plural) insightful comments. I have already decided that two small tweaks can make the story stronger. I have also decided which market to send it to next.

The magazine? Flash Fiction Online.